Google Says Share Your Profile or GTFO!
July 6th, 2011
Google+ launched not long ago and it has created a lot of buzz. I have a Google+ profile, but since I am chained to his computer all the time slaving away to bring you stories of a semi-legible nature I don’t bother to actually put in details or use it. If you do have a Google Profile and you don’t have it set to public, Google wants you to GTFO. I am serious.
Google has stated that it thinks public is the only way to go with your profile since the point is to manage your online identity. If you don’t want the profile public, then just delete it according to Google. In fact, if you do nothing as of August 1, 2011, Google will delete your Google Profile for you if it is set to private.
Google reminds that only your name and gender are required to be shared and you can edit or delete all of the other details. This is very strange; I wonder how people will react. It will probably fly with no issues with the small number of active Google+ users right now. I can only imagine the outcry if Facebook decided to do this and forced all profiles to be public.